Wiscasset Municiapal Airport Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes May 17, 2023 - submitted by Steve Williams

Opening

The regular meeting of the Wiscasset Airport Advisory Committee was called to order at 5:00 pm on May 17 by Chair Steve Williams. Members present: Pam Brackett, Ray Soule, Erv Deck, Mike Costigan, and Stephen Williams . Also in attendence Airport manager Rick Tetrev and Selectman Dusty Jones.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the April 19 meeting were approved .

Airport Manager's May Report

The Airport manager was unable to submit written report for **April** so data on fuel and flight operations is absent.

General Comments

- At dusk on April 28th a Beechcraft Baron light twin struck a deer on landing. No injuries to the occupants and minimal damage to the aircraft. Public Works assisted in the cleanup of the accident. As a result, there will be an expanded effort to manage the deer herd on the airport.
- The Airport manager and Town Manager completed the paperwork on two CIP grants which were part of the CARES Act totaling \$45,000 in value to the airport.
- The RFQ involving the selection of an airport engineering firm was completed on time. The existing firm Stantec was the only submission for review and was approved by the Selectman on May 16th.
- > 8000 Gallons of 100LL were purchased at the beginning of May lowering the price to \$5.91.

Old Business

- **Hangar Development** waiting on tentative approval from FAA. Two emails sent to the FAA in regards to the status of the inintial application have gone unanswered.
- Airport Courtesey Car- no developments.
- **Wiscasset Public Relations** Four pilots including Airport Committee Chair Steve Williams introduced themselves to new residents across the street from airport.

Airport Solar Farm Update

• On schedule with project completion slated for Spring of 2023.

New Business

• none

Airport Minimum Standards

• The draft is in the hands of the Town Manager Dennis Simmons.

Public Comments

None

Calendar

Next regular meeting is June 21, 2023.

Adjournment

At 5:30

Current Committee Members

Steve Williams Chair 12/23 Erv Deck 12/24 Pam Brackett 12/23 Ray Soule 12/24 Mike Costigan 12/24